Grants & Scholarships

The Angeline Gale Scholarship

The traditional branch scholarship is named after Angeline Gale, 
an educator and founder of our branch.  Each year since 1971, the Naperville Branch of AAUW has offered the Angeline Gale Scholarship to a woman working toward completion of her degree. The scholarships intent is to encourage women to scholarly pursuits even when their education may have been interrupted for various reasons.

The scholarship recipients must be at least 26 years old, seeking an undergraduate or associate degree, with a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0, and who is on track to graduate by December of this year, or has achieved junior status (at the time of application) in a bachelor’s degree program. Applicants should reside or attend school in DuPage, Will, Kendall or Kane Counties in Illinois.

The 2020 scholarships (2) of $5,000 can be awarded to part-time or full-time students, those in traditional or accelerated programs.  The candidates may be receiving financial aid. The scholarship committee will interview several women whose applications and personal statements are exemplary.

Scholarship finalists who are selected to be interviewed will be asked to provide an official transcript. Winners must provide a photo for use in promotional material. Please contact Kathy Letkewicz at with any questions about the scholarships.

National Conference Attendee Sponsorship Winners

The life changing conference includes a series of leadership sessions and keynote speakers. In an evening ceremony, awards are presented to women of distinction and participants are able to talk with these outstanding women. Also, there are opportunities to visit Washington, DC and talk with women who work on Capitol Hill. Every year, Naperville AAUW sponsors two local college women to attend.

Woman of the Year Award

Every year we recognize a Naperville-area woman who has demonstrated through her actions an exceptional level of commitment to the community; has, through her actions, supported the advancement of equity for women and girls, and is recognized by the community for her leadership and accomplishments.